Thoughts on Love…

I wanted to try & post this yesterday but my computer crashed with a virus.  As I’m typing this out I’m in the process of still downloading my programs.

But I had this thought sometime ago on the subject of love.  Which I am no expert, but had this mini revelation. 

Jesus was asking just 1 thing from the disciples…”FOLLOW ME.”

So I got to thinking…when you fall in love, it causes you to act.  It’s not saying, “I believe, you’re in my heart, now it’s all done. That’s it.”

Here’s the truth:

LOVE DESIRES COMMITMENT!

It causes you to change certain things to better the relationship.  You’re letting things go in order to hold onto something.  Meaning…whatever you’re left holding is what you love & desire most. 

Life is all about holding to somethings & letting go of others to get closer to what you desire & love most.  And this is what kept ringing in my mind…

LOVE & SACRIFICE ARE INSEPARABLE.

Jesus said, “Take up your cross, deny yourself, lost your life, & follow me.”  He was calling us to an expression of our commitment & love.  Love is expressed through sacrifice & servanthood.

Here are my words, but what are my expressions…my action:

  • I LOVE GOD = WHAT NEEDS SACRIFICED?
  • I LOVE PEOPLE = WHAT NEEDS SACRIFICED?
  • I LOVE SOULS/HURTING/POOR = WHAT NEEDS SACRIFICED? 

Life is not about building mysef a safe, comfortable, secure surrounding…it’s about fighting to follow Christ.  Which = Sacrificing & giving it all! 

Sell what you have, give it all away. 

A Sell Out to Christ,

Josh

4 Comments »

  1. JUDY Said:

    WHAT A GREAT ANALOGY…. NOW IF PEOPLE COULD ONLY GRASP
    THE CONCEPT!

    IN ORDER TO BE A LOVER OF CHRIST, WE MUST BE ABLE TO DISASSOCIATE OURSELVES FROM PEOPLE. SOMETIMES WE MUST
    WALK ALONE AND THEN OTHER TIMES WE CAN WALK ALONG WITH ANOTHER.

    IF YOU OBSERVE JESUS’S WALK WITH HIS DESCIPLES. HE WALKED WITH THEM BUT HE ALSO SEPARATED HIMSELF TO GO AND PRAY AND HEAR FROM THE FATHER – GOD. WE MUST DO THE SAME.

    ALSO IF WE EVER GET THE CONCEPT OF LOVING OTHER PEOPLE THE WAY JESUS DOES, WE CAN REACH OUT TO A DYING WORLD AND JESUS WILL MAKE SURE ALL OF OUR NEEDS ARE MET.

    GREAT WORK JOSH!

    LOVE MOM

  2. Misti Said:

    I enjoyed reading your thoughts and revelations on this. This “concept” is life-changing. God showed me something similar to this when I was living in Thailand. It really does all come down to loving God and the expressions (sacrifices) of our love. For God so loved the world that he GAVE…my favorite scripture that God showed me on this is 2 Corinthians 5:14-15 which says (summarized) “Whatever we do it is because Christ’s love controls us…those who receive his new life will no longer live to please themselves. Instead they will live to please Christ…” Keeping His love in the front of our mind can help us through anything as well as callenge us to give everything we have.

    Thanks for sharing…it is definitely timely in my life.

  3. Hmph Said:

    Which begs the question, do we really “love” what we say we do?

  4. David Said:

    I remember the first time I looked into his eyes. I knew life would never be the same. I didnt “fall in love” love overwhelmed me. I started making promises to him. Love compeles you to sacrifice, change, prioratize, repent, ect. I am today 20 years later still trying to be the best father I can be.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

