Self Convo: Going to Church

So I was thinking, since I’m saved, do I really have to go to church?

Why wouldn’t you?

Well, I don’t think I need to go every week!

But isn’t going to church something you’re supposed to do since you’re a Christian?

I mean it doesn’t really say that, plus sometimes it’s the same thing over & over again.

True, but going to church is where you get up lifted.

Not really, they’re just always telling me not to do wrong & what I’m doing wrong!

Ouch, seems pretty negative. 

Tell me about it, it’s like saying, “DON’T TOUCH THAT BUTTON!”  I just want to touch it more!

Then maybe you should go because of the great people there.

Have you ever been to church?

On occasion.

Then you haven’t been to mine, the people there are stupid.

What do you mean?

Mean, arrogant, stuck up, hypocritical, crazy, hopeless, no fun, brainless, faithless, passionless, apathetic, lethargic, no vision, negative people.

Wow, sounds like you’re being pretty negative there.

I guess they rubbed off on me.

Didn’t Jesus say He loves His church?

Yeah, but does He really love it the way it is?  I mean it’s pretty ugly!

Whoa, now I know Jesus said the church is like his bride…so you just called Jesus’ wife ugly!

Never looked at it that way.  Lord, I apologize.

Well how about I just join of one of those TV churches?

Bu who will you call when you have marriage problems.

Dr. Phil of course!

No, seriously, not going to church is like a student who doesn’t go to school, or a soldier who won’t join the army, a citizen who doesn’t pay taxes or vote (got a lot of those in America)

Ok I get it.

It’s like a salesman with no customers, a captain without a ship, an author with no readers…(Pretty much like this blog L)

Another thing I don’t like is how guilty the church makes me feel…& then I get to pay for my guilt every time they pass that gold shiny offering plate.

Not going is like a tuba player without an orchestra, a football player without a team, a bee without a hive, a banker without money, a doctor without parents.

Are you done yet?!

Yeah I ran out.

It’s about time.

Well, how will the church get any better if you just sit here complaining about it?

What do you mean?

Think about it!  If everyone sat & complained, then the church would stay the same & never change & get better. 

I’m not just complaining, I’m not going & then when it gets better I’ll go!

My point exactly…it’s never going to get better unless you make it better.  The people make the church what it is.

Good thinking, I like that idea, I’ll go just to change everything!!

Hold up sparky!

What is it now?

There are actually some sincere people there as well, & you don’t need to change everything.

Why not?

The church doesn’t need a new program or idea, I’m sure there are plenty of ideas.

Then how will the church change?

Being consistent.

Huh?

I know it’s foreign to a lot of Christians.  But just doing what you say you’ll do.

I’ll try my best, but what if I mess up?

Too late, you already messed up because you’re running late for church!

Oh ok, gotta go…good talk!

8 Comments »

  1. Gary Z. Said:

    Kind of …..good. My church isn’t as negative, but it seems lethargic. we are looking for a preacher and one of the interview questions is how will he deal with slow moving church. I tried to do some Men’s fellowship stuff and even started a sunday school class. Had some good people in the SS class – but it got hard to encourage them to do the actual work at home to study for discussion. Maybe I’m too unconventional – wanting them to study at home.

    I have asked myself about Jesus loving ‘this’ church. How does He let it go so many different “ologies??

    Gary

    • JUDY Said:

      WHAT GREAT INSIGHT YOU HAVE! FROM TIME TO TIME
      CHRISTIANS BECOME LETHARGIC, LAZY, FORGETFUL AND DOWN RIGHT BORED WITH THEIR CHURCHES.

      IT IS NOT UP TO THE PASTOR TO MAKE IT INTERESTING FOR THE BORED AN LAZY. EVERYONE MUST DO THEIR OWN WORK AND WORK OUT THEIR OWN SALVATION.

      WE ARE ONLY LAZY AND BORED AND TIRED OF THE CHURCH THING WHEN WE LOOSE OUR FIRST LOVE.
      WE MUST GO BACK TO OUR FIRST LOVE AND FIRST FRUITS.

      I HAVE BEEN A CHRISTIAN A LONG TIME AND HAVE MADE PLENTY OF MISTAKES ALONG THE WAY, BUT ONE THING I CAN SURELY TESTIFY ON, IS GOD’S MERCY AND GOD’S GRACE. HE NEVER LETS US GOOOOO…….

      THE ONE THAT HAS TRIED THE SUNDAY CLASS THING…
      GOOD FOR YOU…. DON NOT WORRY WHETHER PEOPLR ARE GOING HOME TO STUDY IT….. GOD GIVES YOU THE TEACHING TOOLS AND IT IS UP TO THE ONES THAT HAVE EARS TO HEAR TO STUDY IT OUT….. YOU DO YOUR PART AND GOD WILL DO THE REST…. EVEN IF NO ONE ELSE IS FAITHFUL, YOU STAY TRUE. GOD NEVER SAYS IT IS EASY WHEN CALLED DO SOMETHING, THERE IS ALWAYS BATTLES, BUT THANK GOD WE DO NOT HAVE TO FIGHT IT, THAT IS GOD’S JOB!!!!!

      WE ARE JESUS’S BRIDE, HE LOOKS AT US THROUGH THE BLOOD THAT HE SHED…. HE MAKES US WHITER THAN SNOW AND WE HAVE NO WRINKLES IN OUR HEAVENLY GARMENTS. NO STAINS, NO BLOTCHES, NO SIN….
      HE LOVES US ALLEJUAH !!!!

      I BELIEVE WE ARE TO GO TO CHURCH WITH AN EXPECTANCY THAT WE ARE GOING TO MEET THE KING OF KINGS AND THE LORD OF LORDS….. NO MATTER WHO ELSE GOES INSIDE THOSE DOORS, GOD IS THERE, WAITING FOR HIS PEOPLE TO GIVE HIM WORSHIP, GIVE HIM PRAISE AND TO LIFT HIM UP…. WHEN THE PRAISES GO UP THE GLORY MUST SURELY COME DOWN.

      BUT HE NEEDS PEOPLE TO GO TO CHURCH BECAUSE THEY ARE EXCITED ABOUT WHAT GOD IS UP TO…. WHEN WE GO FOR ANY OTHER REASON, WE WILL BE DISAPPOINTED, BORED, TIRED, AND A CHRONIC COMPLAINER.

      WAKE UP PEOPLE, GOD IS WAITING FOR HIS BRIDE AND HE IS WAITING FOR YOU TO GET EXCITED ABOUT HIM!

      WHEN WE HAVE A RELATIONSHIP WITH JESUS, NO ONE WILL HAVE TO MAKE US READ OUR BIBLE (THE LOVE BOOK) OR PRAY (TO THE ONE WHO IS IN LOVE WITH YOU) OR FAST
      (GETTING THE WILL AND MIND OF HIM), IT WILL HAPPEN AND YOU WILL NEVER, NEVER, NEVER BE THE SAME AGAIN.

      ALSO EVERYONE ELSE WILLL WANT WHAT YOU HAVE,

      FIRE SHUT UP IN YOUR BONES !!!!!!!

  2. penultima Said:

    Every time I see a post like this I have to say something…

    A true follower of Christ does not have to attend a church each and every week as if under bondage or some sort of law.

    A church is just physical building, you need not go there, especially if it is not proclaiming the word of Christ.

    You must assemble with fellow followers of Christ and edify and support each other. This can not and does not happen in church.

    In church, you sit there in a passive state, where ou sit and stand when they tell you too, you read what they tell you too, you sing what they tell you too, you believe what they tell you too and you sit quietly and listen, and if you ask too many difficult questions you may be shunned depending on the nature of the church you go to.

    Churches have people so brainwashed that gong to a building is a good idea that you had a conversation with your self and the logic given by the church overrode your own common sense.

    Nothing of what you said was Biblical. You also presented some serious categorical errors in confusing the church (the physical building you are going to) with Jesus bride, which are the faithful that love him and keep his words.

    • joshobannion27 Said:

      Hey I’d love to invite you to my church. I def know what you mean, but it’s a great reason why I love my church here.

      I guess the self convo was based off of hearing people’s experiences, hopefully that would change for you.

      Check out my church, it’s really great…
      http://www.christlifechurch.org

  3. joshobannion27 Said:

    Hey thanks for the comments guys, I really appreciate it.

    I got the idea of this self convo from a blog I ready by Tripp Crosby, they’re kind of meant to be funny.

    Hope you enjoyed.

  4. JUDY Said:

    TO THE PERSON WHO THINKS CHURCH IS PASSIVE AND BORING, WHAT KIND OF STUFF DID YOU GROW UP WITH. CHURCH IS A BUILDING WHERE YOU GET TOGETHER TO BE REFUELED. TO BE WITH OTHER FELLOW BELIEVERS TO GAIN STRENGTH SO YOU CAN GO OUT AND WITNESS TO THE LOST.

    GOD’S WORD SAYS FAIL NOT TO ASSEMBLE YOURSELVES TOGETHER.
    REMEMBER BIRDS OF FEATHER FLOCK TOGETHER.

    THERE ARE TOO MANY CHURCHES OUT THERE FOR YOU TO SAY,
    DOES NOT HAPPEN TO EDIFY GOD’S PEOPLE.

    TRY AGAIN AND ASK GOD FOR GUIADANCE AND AN OPEN HEART BEFORE YOU WRITE OFF THE CHURCH.

  5. arianna Said:

    Hey thats good . Hey i want to go to church camp but cant cause it cost to much and cant afford it can you help me out with something?

  6. jeffrossman Said:

    I’m a latecomer to this particular post (and this blog), but I love it, bro! Keep it up!

    I’ve actually had the same conversation in my own head, and the same thoughts as many of the commenters here. There is definitely a truth to the fact that “just going to a building” is not in and of itself a spiritual act. “Having church” has a lot to do with your attitude, your focus. I’ve had church in a parking lot after “church.” I’ve had church in a Denny’s over coffee. I’ve had church in a classroom. The church is “wherever two or three are gathered in My [Jesus’] name.” And THAT’S the point. You can be with a bunch of other Christian’s and NOT be gathered in His name. It’s all about your focus.

    There are different ideas out there about what church should look like. I personally don’t care what it looks like. I think that a home church is just as effective as having church in a church-building. The emphasis is not on what it looks like externally, but what is going on in your heart. Are you there “in Jesus’ name”? Or are you just there? And I believe THAT was your whole point…good job.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

